Food / Gluten-Free / Paleo / Recipes

Curry-Cashew Broccoli Salad

I kept craving that potluck broccoli salad with raisins and red onion and sweet mayo dressing. It’s been something like an eon since I’ve had that salad, but, old habits die hard, and the return of summer brought strange cravings. I decided not to fight it.

I figured I could look up the recipe on one of those “mom” sites where bad casserole recipes and even worse photos are shared, but I’m far too impatient. I decided to just make a broccoli salad (I mean, I trust my flavor instincts) and here’s what I did:

Ingredients:
2 bunches of broccoli (4 heads, florets removed and cut into bite sized pieces)
1/2 a red onion, thinly sliced
1 cup raisins
1 1/2 cups cashews
1/2 cup mayo
1/4 cup rice vinegar
2 Tbsp honey
2 tsp curry powder
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon ginger powder
A good pinch of sea salt
Crumbled feta (optional)

Toss the broccoli, onion, raisins, and cashews together in a large bowl. Whisk together the mayo, vinegar, honey, spices, and salt until smooth. Pour over the broccoli, and toss well. Let the salad marinate in the fridge for a few hours. It gets better with time.

Sprinkle with feta just before serving.

Enjoy!20140614-152036-55236463.jpg

Leave a Reply

